Who we are

Who are we?

In June 2016 we have formed a membership organisation, adopted a constitution and also have our very own committee.
Check out who is part of Women’s Cycle Forum Committee.


Suzanne ForupSuzanne Forup is Cycling UK’s Head of Development for Scotland and co- founder of the Women’s Cycle Forum. Suzanne was a keen cycle tourist and commuter before becoming a mum in 2011. Now cycling requires a completely different approach for Suzanne, mainly featuring copious snacks and Mr Elephant, her son’s favourite toy. Suzanne blogs about her family cycling adventures, documenting her family’s first cycle tour through the Netherlands this year. You can find her blog at http://www.backonmybikeblog.wordpress.com and follow her on twitter on @backonmybike

Sally HinchcliffeSally Hinchcliffe is a writer and editor who escaped London in 2008 for the rural life in Dumfries and Galloway. She helped found the Cycling Embassy of Great Britain, and started her local cycle campaign Cycling Dumfries shortly after that. She is one of the founding organisers of Pedal on Parliament, the grassroots campaign for better cycling conditions in Scotland, and now, despite vowing to give up starting cycling organisations, helps organise the Women’s Cycle Forum after seeing too many all-male panels at cycling conferences. She blogs about life (with a bit of cycling) at Town Mouse and tweets about cycling (with a bit of life) at @sallyhinch.

Both Sally and Suzanne were named among the 100 most influential women in cycling in BikeBiz’s women of the year list, 2015

Treasurer Alice Lyall joined the WCFS committee because she has opinions and wanted a place to use them. She is a regular cycle commuter enjoying Edinburgh’s finest potholes and unpleasant junctions, but also does epic cycling trips where she tries not to get eaten by bears. She tweets as @alice_lyall in everyday life and @bear_buffet on her bike adventures.

You can read more about Alice here.

Other committee members

Caroline Brown is a lecturer in urban planning and geography at Heriot-Watt University and has a long-standing interest in cycling as a form of transport. This interest may have been inspired by living in the Netherlands for 6 months and experiencing the joy of safe and well-designed cycle infrastructure. Caroline is a co-director of the Edinburgh Festival of Cycling and gets out now and again to chair Spokes Lothian Public Meetings. After a slight hiatus while her children were young, Caroline has recently returned to regular cycle commuting and the joys of riding on a canal tow path.

You can read more about Caroline here 

Julia road bikeJulia Loecherbach is a bioinformatician by trade and a cyclist at heart – bikes are her main means of transport and she has always ridden a bike, from when she started cycling to school. Since she moved to the UK she’s found the environment much more hostile for cycling but she hasn’t given up riding her bike everywhere whether for commuting, shopping, socialising, club rides or triathlons.

You can read more about Julia here.

Vivienne Gray is a planner with a passion for bikes – having cycled most of her life growing up she got back into cycling as a way to get to work during the tram works and the rest is history. She also brings her interest into her professional life as a planner, as part of planning for active travel.

You can read more about Vivienne here.